Broadstripe Cable Tries to Kill Tivo Usage

It used to be called Millennium Digital Media Cable Company, now it’s Broadstripe, and not only does it have a new name, they’ve put firmware on their cable boxes so Tivo users can’t use their Tivo boxes to change channels anymore. If it were one of my cable boxes I might think it’s a fluke, but ALL THREE MOTOROLA CABLE BOXES now ignore commands from my three Tivos. Why would they possibly do this? So we would ditch our Tivos and use their DVRs. I’ve had the same cable company for over 5 years, I pay my bill every month, I have their top premium channel package, high speed internet and just signed up for their phone service. My wife and I live through our Tivos (we have one in our bedroom, one in the living room and one in my office.) and I’ve seen those clunky cable DVRs and I don’t like them.  And I can pay $300 for a Tivo HD that’ll take a Cable Card but I’m not sure that’ll work either. I’m not giving up my Tivo, and I’ll go back to basic cable and download my premium content if I have to.  Anyone else out there experiencing this kind of thing?

1 Response to “Broadstripe Cable Tries to Kill Tivo Usage”


  1. 1 Mike September 11, 2008 at 2:02 am

    I thought that my neighbors and I were just digitally illiterate, but I think your conspiracy theory may have merit. We just bought a TIVO HD DVR after Broadstripe told us they had cablecard systems in place and could install them. The local tech confirmed that they could install the cards although he had never done so. After ordering and scheduling the installation, Broadstripe called back and said “since you live on the Oregon coast our equipment is not compatable”. All this after telling me they could handle it only a week earlier. I was miffed and called the local tech who assured me they would never be able to install a cablecard in the TIVO DVR, but they could install one in a TV. I can’t imagine any difference in the duties the card performs. Can anyone enlighten me?


Leave a comment




December 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos